P. S. Theocaris

P. S. Theocaris was a legendary figure in the mechanics community in Greece. He also was one of the most outstanding experimental stress analysts in the world during the second half of the twentieth century. He was member of the Academy of Athens, the most prestigious distinction of professionals in Greece. He also served as corresponding or, foreign member to other Academies in Europe. He was the recipient of many awards and distinctions. He was elected as SEM Fellow in 1979. As an experimentalist, he is known primarily for his work in moiré, photoelasticity and caustics.

The award in question is designed to recognize a senior individual for distinguished, innovative and outstanding work in optical methods and experimental mechanics.

Award Guidelines      Award Nomination Form


2023 Recipient

Picture of Arun Shukla

Contributions to the understanding of dynamic phenomena in engineering materials and structures through fundamental mechanics of materials studies

Arun Shukla
Dr. Shukla is the Simon Ostrach Professor of Mechanical Engineering at the University of Rhode Island (URI). He also serves as the Director of the National Institute for Undersea Vehicle Technology at URI. Dr. Shukla was elected to the Russian Academy of Engineering in 2015 and the European Academy of Sciences and Arts in 2011. He is a Fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, Fellow of the American Academy of Mechanics, Fellow Shock Wave Society (India) and Fellow of the Society for Experimental Mechanics (SEM). He received the M.M. Frocht Award from SEM for “outstanding achievements as an educator in the field of experimental mechanics” and the B.J. Lazan Award from SEM for “outstanding technical contributions to the understanding of dynamic phenomena in engineering materials and structures.” In 2003 he served as the President of SEM and in 2011 delivered the prestigious Murray Lecture at SEM. He has served as the Technical Editor of Experimental Mechanics and currently serves on the Editorial Boards of key engineering journals. Dr. Shukla has received the Distinguished Alumnus Award from his alma mater, IIT Kanpur. Along with his many Ph.D. and M.S. students, he has published more than 400 papers in refereed journals and proceedings. Dr. Shukla has also authored and edited 10 books.

The Society acknowledges the following individuals who were given the P. S. Theocaris Award in the past.
2021 - Ravichandran Guruswami 2019 - Michael A. Sutton 2017 - John Lambros
2015 - Fu-pen Chiang 2013 - Ares J. Rosakis 2011 - Cesar Sciammarella
2009 - Emmanuel Gdoutos 2007 - Isaac M. Daniel