C.E. Taylor

The C.E. Taylor Award shall be bestowed upon an SEM member who demonstrates both technical excellence in optical stress analysis and good citizenship within SEM. Guidelines for the award are as follows: No individual shall receive the award more than once; the award shall be given biannually, provided that a suitable candidate is identified; Technical excellence in optical stress analysis is intended to be all encompassing, where optical analysis is to be taken in its broadest sense.

Technical excellence in optical stress analysis shall be demonstrated by meritorious technical accomplishments in one or more aspects of optical analysis. Optical analysis includes but is not limited to the (a) development of optical techniques for applications and (b) application of optical techniques for measurement of stress, strain, displacement or other physical phenomenon (e.g., corrosion, temperature, flaw detection).

Good Citizenship shall be defined as the demonstrated sustained commitment of an individual to the betterment of the Society for Experimental Mechanics and the field of experimental mechanics in general. Since there are many ways that an individual can contribute to the betterment of SEM and the field of experimental mechanics, the award will consider all SEM members, regardless of position held within the Society, and will ensure that these candidates are supportive of SEM and its philosophy.

Award Guidelines      Award Nomination Form


2022 Recipient

Picture of Gary Cloud

In recognition of distinguished technical contributions to the field of experimental mechanics and the good citizenship that he/she has repeatedly demonstrated as a loyal and dedicated member of the society.

Gary Cloud
University Distinguished Professor Gary L. Cloud joined the faculty of Michigan State University in 1961 and now conducts research in the MSU Composite Vehicle Research Center, of which he was Founding Director. He is a licensed Professional Engineer and Chartered Physicist as well as a Fellow of the Society for Experimental Mechanics and the Institute of Physics. His research brings together optical and electronic techniques to solve problems in geomechanics, biomechanics, composites, fracture mechanics, fastening, nondestructive evaluation, and design. He has written extensively, including the book Optical Methods of Engineering Measurement, and he holds 5 patents. Further details at www.egr.msu.edu/~cloud.

The Society acknowledges the following individuals who were given the C. E. Taylor Award in the past.
2021 - Nancy Sottos 2018 - Peter G. Ifju 2016 - William L. Fourney
2014 - Isaac M. Daniel 2012 - Arun Shukla 2010 - C.W. Smith
2008 - Michael A. Sutton 2006 - Daniel Post 2004 - Michael E. Fourney
2002 - James W. Dally 2000 - Charles E. Taylor