Springer/Nature Publishing Young Investigator Lecture

Sponsored by Springer/Nature

The Society has a number of awards which, by their nature, are intended to recognize senior members of the Society for their work in Experimental Mechanics. However, it is also important that the Society recognize members early in their career whose work demonstrates considerable potential in the field of Experimental Mechanics. That is the focus of this lecture.

As with all SEM awards, we strongly solicit nominations from the members of the Society for this lecture. The nominee should be recognized for the potential of work early in his/her career, and should be a member of the Society. On the academic side, this could be someone at the Assistant or Associate Professor level. On the industrial or Government Lab side, it could be someone up to 10 years after hire. These are only guidelines and not absolute rules.

Award Guidelines      Award Nomination Form


2024 Recipient

Picture of Allison Beese

In recognition of outstanding mid-career contributions to experimental mechanics.

Allison Beese
Allison Beese is a professor of Materials Science and Engineering at Penn State University. She serves as Director of Penn State's Additive Manufacturing and Design graduate program, Associate Head for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion in Materials Science and Engineering, and co-director of Penn State’s additive manufacturing center (CIMP-3D). Her multiscale mechanics of materials research group uses experimental and computational methods to identify the links between microstructural features and deformation and failure of materials, with a focus on additively manufactured metallic materials. She received her B.S. in Mechanical Engineering from Penn State and M.S. and Ph.D. in Mechanical Engineering from MIT.

The Society acknowledges the following individuals who were given the Springer/Nature Publishing Young Investigator Lecture Award in the past.
2023 - Ryan Berke 2022 - Sarah Bentil 2021 - Veronica Eliasson
2020 - Jacob Notbohm 2019 - Jason Foley 2018 - Leslie Lamberson
2017 - Christian Franck