SAGE Publishing Young Engineer Lecture

Sponsored by Sage Publications Limited

The Society has a number of awards which, by their nature, are intended to recognize senior members of the Society for their work in Experimental Mechanics. However, it is also important that the Society recognize members early in their career whose work demonstrates considerable potential in the field of Experimental Mechanics. That is the focus of this new lecture.

As with all SEM awards, we strongly solicit nominations from the members of the Society for this lecture. The nominee should be recognized for the potential of work early in his/her career, and should be a member of the Society. On the academic side, this could be someone at the Assistant or Associate Professor level. On the industrial or Government Lab side, it could be someone up to 10 years after hire. These are only guidelines and not absolute rules.

Award Guidelines      Award Nomination Form


2021 Recipient

In recognition of outstanding early-career contributions to experimental mechanics.

Picture of Luke Martin

Luke Martin
Luke A. Martin earned a Ph.D. in Mechanical Engineering from Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University in 2011. He is currently employed with the Naval Surface Warfare Center, Dahlgren Division as a Technical Expert. Luke’s interest in vibration measurements and analysis began when he used vibration measurements and Fourier analysis for predictive maintenance of rotating equipment during an undergraduate internship. Upon graduation from West Virginia University Institute of Technology, he pursued graduate studies at Virginia Polytechnic Institute earning a Master of Science in 2004. His research and professional interest has spanned from modeling viscoelastic materials undergoing shock loading to pioneering the Navy’s first multiple degree of freedom random vibration test for a major weapon system. He has authored over twenty-two significant publications or briefings.

The Society acknowledges the following individuals who were given the SAGE Publishing Young Engineer Lecture Award in the past.
2020 - Joe Schoneman
2019 - Zhu Mao
2018 - Jacob Dodson
2017 - Gaëtan Kerschen