M. M. Frocht

Mr. Max Mark Frocht was honored for his professional accomplishments by the 1967 initiation of the M.M. Frocht Award. The award recognizes “outstanding achievement as an educator in the field of experimental mechanics,” and is presented annually.


Dr. Frocht’s work on photoelasticity research on stress concentration factors and 3-D techniques and his two-volume treatise on photoelasticity is considered a classic and has been translated into Russian, Spanish, and Chinese. Its publication was credited with revitalizing interest in photoelasticity.

Dr. Frocht was a student of Steven Timoshenko and many of his own students have made important contributions to the field of experimental mechanics. He presented papers and lectures on photoelasticity and experimental stress analysis in all parts of the world.

Award Guidelines      Award Nomination Form


2019 Recipient

Picture of Martin Trethewey

In recognition of outstanding achievements as an educator in the field of experimental mechanics.

Martin W. Trethewey
Martin W. Trethewey received a Ph.D. from Michigan Technological University in 1982. He is a Professor of Mechanical Engineering at Penn State University and also holds an appointment as a Visiting Professor in the School of Mechanical Engineering at Shanghai Jiao Tong University. 
He has taught a variety of undergraduate and graduate courses in three Penn State academic programs: Mechanical Engineering, The Graduate Program in Acoustics, and Quality and Manufacturing Management. Course topics include experimental vibrations, acoustical data measurement and analysis, machine dynamics, noise control, mechanical design, and product design.
He has led a number of innovative educational program development efforts. One noteworthy activity created a global educational platform for Penn State students to team with their counterparts in other countries. The teams mimic the operation of a multi-national corporate engineering team to produce engineered solutions to an industry sponsored project. A professional engineering environment is created by having the international student teams report directly to their industry sponsor. The global teaming delivers an in-depth international experience in an engineering context. Global Teams have been developed with Shanghai Jiao Tong University (China), National University of Singapore (Singapore), Seoul National University (Korea), Chonnam National University (Korea), Chalmers University of Technology (Sweden), and the University of Melbourne (Australia).
He was the recipient of the Penn State College of Engineering Outstanding Teaching Award and The Pennsylvania State University Milton S. Eisenhower Award for Excellence in Teaching. The international student team program he spearheaded received a National Academy of Engineering – Real World Engineering Education Citation—"Infusing Capstone Design Projects with Real World Experiences Using Global and Cross-College Teams".
M.W. Trethewey's research has focused on the analysis of machine dynamics from experimentally acquired data. The research encompasses experimental techniques, instrumentation, signal processing, and system modeling. He has supervised 50 graduate students and has published over 130 technical papers.
M.W. Trethewey has served in a variety of capacities for the SEM IMAC community and a term on the Society for Experimental Mechanics Executive Committee. He served as the SEM appointed Assistant Editor-in-Chief of Mechanical Systems and Signal Processing for 10 years. He is a Fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers.



Past Recipients
The Society acknowledges the following individuals who were given the M.M. Frocht Award in the past.
2018 - Ghatu Subhash 1999 - P.K. Stein 1979 - E.E. Day
2017 - A. Carpinteri 1998 - L.W. Zachary 1978 - J.T. Pindera
2016 - L. Virgin 1997 - J. Der Hovanesian 1977 - W.F. Riley
2015 - J. Lambros 1996 - W.N. Sharpe 1976 - J.W. Dally
2014 - W. L. Fourney 1995 - A.S. Kobayashi 1975 - D.K. Wright
2013 - W. C. Crone 1994 - R.J. Sanford 1974 - R.D. Mindlin
2012 - S. Nemat-Nasser 1993 - C.E. Work 1973 - P. Stein
2011 - N. Sottos 1992 - I.M. Allison 1972 - E.O. Stitz
2010 - E.A. Patterson 1991 - J.F. Doyle 1971 - D.C. Drucker
2009 - F.-P. Chiang 1990 - J.B. Ligon 1970 - W.M. Murray
2008 - R.J. Pryputniewicz 1989 - T.W. Corby, Jr 1969 - C.E. Taylor
2007 - M.A. Sutton 1988 - D. Post 1968 - M.M. Frocht
2006 - I.M. Daniel 1987 - R.E. Rowlands  
2005 - D. Brown 1986 - W.F. Swinson  
2004 - A. Cardon 1985 - K.G. McConnell  
2003 - A. Rosakis 1984 - C.P. Burger  
2002 - D.J. Ewins 1983 - C.W. Smith  
2001 - A. Shukla 1982 - T. Kunio  
2000 - G.L. Cloud 1981 - V.J. Parks  
  1980 - C.A. Sciammarella