D. J. DeMichele Award

This award, established in 1990 in honor of Dominick J. DeMichele (1916-2000), recognizes an individual who has demonstrated “exemplary service and support of promoting the science and educational aspects of modal analysis technology.” This award is presented annually at the International Modal Analysis Conference.

Dominick J. DeMichele was the past director of the International Modal Analysis Conference (IMAC), having directed 13 annual IMACs, and was founder and president of Instrumentation and Measurement Technology Services. He held a B.S.M.E. from Rensselaer and was also a graduate of the New York Diesel Institute. He joined the mechanical engineering department of the general engineering laboratory at the General Electric Company, Schenectady, NY, in 1940 as a project engineer and retired from GE in 1979. He received the coveted Charles E. Coffin Award, the company’s highest award to its employees, for his contribution in the field of solid mechanics (vibration, shock, stress-strain and acoustics). While at GE, Mr. DeMichele was awarded four patents: High Temperature Strain Gages; Strain Gages; Method for Making Resistance Strain Gages; and Strain Gage Pressure Transducer.

Mr. DeMichele was a 42-year member and a Fellow of SEM. He was chair of two national meetings, a member of the Executive Board, a member of the Technical Papers Committee, chair of the national technical session on high temperature strain gages, and organizer and first chairman of the New York-Hudson Local Section of the Society. He was a senior member of the Instrument Society of America and of the American Society for Nondestructive Testing. He served as a member of the National Academy of Sciences Instrumentation Committee for the American Association of Highway Officials Road Test. Mr. DeMichele was appointed a member of the National Commission on Technical Education of the National Science Foundation. He published numerous technical papers and in-house reports covering the development of high-temperature strain gages, special projects in strain gage applications, vibration, acoustics and other measurement programs.

Click here for a YouTube video of Dick’s life


Award Guidelines      Award Nomination Form


2021 Recipient

Picture of Jason Blough

For thirty years of contributing research, education, and developing quality engineers making an impact across a variety of industries.

Jason Blough
Dr. Blough received his BSME and MSME from Michigan Technological University. Dr. Blough attended the University of Cincinnati to obtain his Ph.D. in structural dynamics. Dr. Blough’s Ph.D. was on rotating machinery signal processing methods. Dr. Blough is currently a Professor in the Mechanical Engineering-Engineering Mechanics Department at Michigan Technological University. Dr. Blough has been active in SEM and IMAC for over 20 years publishing papers, serving on the SEM Executive Board, and continues to be an instructor in the “Young Engineers” program at IMAC. Dr. Blough’s research is industry funded, with support from the auto and powersports industries, and defense. Dr. Blough has graduated over 40 graduate students and published over 135 papers. Dr. Blough has taught over 40 short courses to industry on various NVH topics.

The Society acknowledges the following individuals who were given the D. J. DeMichele Award in the past.
2020 - Scott Cogan 2019 - Ralph D. Brillhart 2018 - Charless D. Van Karsen
2017 - Mark Schiefer 2016 - Michael D. Todd 2015 - Randy Mayes
2014 - Keith Worden 2013 - Charles R. Farrar 2012 - Raj K. Singhal
2011 - Mark Richardson 2010 - François M. Hemez 2009 - Douglas E. Adams
2008 - Álvaro Cunha 2007 - Daniel J. Inman 2006 - William R. Shapton
2005 - James Lally 2004 - Peter Avitabile 2003 - Carlos E. Ventura
2002 - Roy R. Craig Jr. 2001 - Sam Ibrahim 2000 - Thomas G. Carne
1999 - Alfred L. Wicks 1998 - Randall Allemang 1997 - Kenneth G. McConnell
1996 - Nobuyuki Okubo 1995 - Larry D. Mitchell 1994 - Tzu Chuen Huang
1993 - David J. Ewins 1992 - David L. Brown 1991 - Bruno Piombo
1990 - Dominick J. DeMichele