Conference History - 2021


Annual Conference History

Year Dates Theme and Venue City State SEM President
2020 September 14–17 SEM XIV International Congress
    John Lambros–University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
2019 June 3–6 Expanding the Boundaries of Mechanics
Peppermill Resort and Spa
Reno NV Wendy Crone–University of Wisconsin-Madison
2018 June 4–7 SEM’S 75th Anniversary: Celebrating Past Accomplishments and Exploring New Frontiers in Experimental Mechanics
Hyatt Regency Greenville
Greenville SC Kathryn A. Dannemann–Southwest Research Institute
2017 June 12–15 Challenges in Experimental Mechanics
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Indianapolis IN Peter Avitabile–University of Massachusetts Lowell
2016 June 6–9 Dynamic Behavior: Integrating Experimental Mechanics
Hilton Orlando Lake Buena Vista @ Walt Disney World Resort
Orlando FL Guruswami (Ravi) Ravichandran–Caltech
2015 June 8–11 Experimental Mechanics Spanning Multiple Scientific and Engineering Disciplines
Hilton Orange County/Costa Mesa
Costa Mesa CA Nancy Sottos–University of Illinois at Urbana–Champaign
2014 June 2–5 Bridging Multiple Length and Time Scales
Hyatt Regency Greenville
Greenville SC Emmanuel Gdoutos–Democritus University of Thrace
2013 June 3–6 SEM at 70: From Photoelasticity to DIC and Beyond
The Westin Lombard Yorktown Center
Lombard IL Carlos Ventura–University of British Columbia
2012 June 11–14 Measurement Challenges for New Structures and Materials
Hilton Orange County/Costa Mesa
Costa Mesa CA Peter Geza Ifju–University of Florida
2011 June 13–16 Experimental Mechanics in the Age of Modeling and Simulation
Mohegan Sun
Uncasville CT Ryszard (Rich) J. Pryputniewicz–Worcester Polytechnic Institute
2010 June 7–10 Experimental Mechanics of High Performance Systems
Crowne Plaza Hotel & Conference Center at Historic Union Station
Indianapolis IN Kristin B. Zimmerman–Environment, Energy and Safety Policy, General Motors Corporation, Beijing, China