SEM XIV International Congress is postponed to September 14-17, 2020

SEM has made the difficult decision of postponing the 2020 SEM Annual meeting to September 14-17, 2020 due to the current COVID-19 pandemic. This decision was made with the hard work of the organizers and authors in mind and to enable the Society’s mission of education and sharing of ideas. SEM leadership feels that the value offered through a face-to-face meeting is the best conduit to disseminate ideas and research. We do, however, understand that we must be mindful and socially responsible, especially at this uncertain time.

We are working diligently to ensure that we can create a safe and successful event with a strong technical program. We believe that the fall timeframe will afford us this opportunity and have measures in place, according to CDC and WHO guidelines, to responsibly protect all conference attendees.

The postponement of the conference requires working with authors to create a cohesive technical program.

  • SEM plans to open registration for the conference by May 15, 2020.
  • If you have made a reservation with the Rosen Plaza for June, you will receive a separate email with instructions to rebook your reservation with the hotel directly under the SEM room block.
  • Meetings (e.g. Technical Division meetings, Honors, Editorial Council, etc.) will occur following the original June conference dates  (June 8-11) through an online platform. This does not preclude face-to-face meetings in September.  SEM is targeting Monday June 8-June 10 for all committee and TD meetings, including the Executive Board meeting.
SEM will post regular updates on our wesite at and social media platforms, links for these can be found at the bottom of our home page.

Please forward this message to your colleagues.

Thank you for your contributions and hard work. On behalf of SEM staff and the Executive Board, we hope you stay safe and that you will be able to joins us in Orlando in September.


Four SEM members become Members of the NAE

Four long-standing active members of SEM are among the newly elected members of the US National Academy of Engineering announced recently. The SEM members newly inducted into the Academy, and their corresponding citations, are listed below in alphabetical order:
Emri Igor Prof. Igor EmriUniversity of Ljubljana, Slovenia, International Member: For contributions to the testing and modeling of time-dependent materials, and to novel sound and vibration isolation materials.
Read more  
Prof. Horacio D. EspinosaJames and Nancy Farley Professor of Mechanical Engineering, Northwestern University, Evanston, IL: For contributions bridging nanoscale experimentation and atomistic simulations.
Read more  
Prof. Nancy R. Sottos Swanlund Chair, Materials Science and Engineering, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, IL: For contributions to the design and applications of self-healing and multifunctional materials.
Read more  
Prof. Michael A. SuttonDistinguished Professor, Mechanical and Biomedical Engineering, University of South Carolina, Columbia, SC: For creation of digital image correlation-based measurement technology and its dissemination through commercialization and applications in industry.
Read more  

These members have been active for many years at SEM and on many occasions have presented their most recent findings at SEM conferences and have disseminated their research through the Society's Journal publications. In addition, they have all contributed in many ways to the SEM and have also been recipients of many of the Society's honors and awards: All four have been elected Fellows of SEM, all four have in the past received the Lazan award for outstanding original technical contributions to experimental mechanics, and among them have garnered an impressive array of 11 additional SEM awards including the Frocht, Hetenyi, Nemat-Nasser, Peterson, Tatnall, Taylor and Theocaris awards. Three of the awardees are Past Presidents of the Society (Emri, Sottos, Sutton), three are former editors-in-chief of the Society's flagship journal Experimental Mechanics (Espinosa, Sottos, Sutton) and two have also delivered the Murray lecture which is the Society's prestige lecture (Espinosa, Sutton).

It is a great honor and privilege for our Society to have been a forum for incubating many of the contributions that led to these recognitions, so please congratulate the awardees whenever you next see them in person at a gathering of the SEM. This has been a great year for SEM member recognition by the National Academy and the newest four members join a number of SEM members who are already part of the National Academy of Engineering including J. Dally, D. Dudderer, S. Nemat-Nasser, W.G. Knauss, A.S. Kobayashi, G. Ravichandran, and A.J. Rosakis.