Nancy R. Sottos

University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, IL

SEM Awards: SEM Fellow, M. M. Frocht, M. Hetényi, B. J. Lazan, W. M. Murray Lecture, C. E. Taylor

Nancy Sottos holds the Maybelle Leland Swanlund Endowed Chair and is Head of the Department of Materials Science and Engineering at the University of Illinois Urbana Champaign. She is leader of the Autonomous Materials Systems (AMS) group at the Beckman Institute for Advanced Science and Technology. Inspired by autonomous function in biological systems, the Sottos group develops polymers and composites capable of self-healing and regeneration, self-reporting, and self-protection to improve reliability and extend material lifetime. Her current research interests focus on new bioinspired methods to manufacture these complex materials. Sottos’ research and teaching awards include the ONR Young Investigator Award, Scientific American's SciAm 50 Award, the Hetényi Best Paper Award in Experimental Mechanics, Fylde Best Paper Award in the journal Strain, the M. M. Frocht, the B. J. Lazan and the Charles Taylor Awards from the Society for Experimental Mechanics, the Daniel Drucker Eminent Faculty Award, the IChemE Global Research Award, and the Society of Engineering Science Medal. She is a member of the National Academy of Engineering (NAE), a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), Society for Experimental Mechanics (SEM) and the Society for Engineering Science (SES).


Is this your profile? Need to update it? Contact

Last Updated: 05/03/2021