SEM Fellow 2018

In 1975, the Honors Committee recommended a bylaws change which would enable a Fellow grade of membership to be established.

The recommendation, which was approved, changed Article IV, Section 3 to read: “A Fellow shall be an individual who has distinguished himself/herself in some field in which the Society has interest, who has been a member of the Society for at least ten consecutive years, and whose contributions to the Society and the technical community have justified this honor. The number and manner of election of Fellows shall be as specified by the Executive Committee.

The Fellows Committee meets at the SEM Annual Conference to elect a slate of nominees for presentation at the following SEM Annual Conference. For more details on the Fellow Grade of Membership, Nomination Requirements, or the schedule followed by the Committee of Fellows, see the links below:

Reference Form    Fellow Membership Grade     Nomination FAQ's     Fellow Calendar

Fellow Nomination Form

2018 Fellow Awards
Charles (Chuck) Farrar

(Ph.D. in Civil Eng. from the Univ. of New Mexico, 1988) has 34 years of experience at Los Alamos National Lab (LANL) where he is currently the leader of The Engineering Institute. His research focuses on developing integrated hardware and software solutions to structural health monitoring (SHM) problems. He teaches a graduate course on SHM for the Univ. of California San Diego and has developed a SHM short course that has been offered to industry and government agencies in Asia, Australia, Europe and the U.S. He is a LANL Fellow and a Fellow of ASME and ASCE.

Michel Grédiac

Is a professor at University Clermont Auvergne and a member of the Pascal Institute, Clermont-Ferrand, France. He graduated from the "Ecole Nationale Supérieure d’Arts et Métiers" in Paris in 1983. He received his Ph.D. in Mechanical Engineering from the "Ecole Nationale Supérieure des Mines de Saint-Etienne" and the University of Lyon in 1992. His main research interest is the development and use of full-field measurement systems for material characterization purposes. He is the co-author of the book on the Virtual Fields Method. Michel Grédiac wrote more than 120 journal papers and supervised more than 25 Ph.D. students. He has been an Associate Technical Editor for Experimental Mechanics since 2010.

Francesco Lanza di Scalea

Francesco Lanza di Scalea is currently a Professor of Structural Engineering and the Director of the Non-Destructive Evaluation & Structural Health Monitoring (NDE & SHM) Laboratory of the University of California at San Diego (UCSD). He received his Laurea (summa cum laude) and Ph.D. degrees in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Palermo, Italy, and an M.S. degree in Engineering Mechanics from Michigan State University. During 1998-1999 he was a post-doctoral fellow at the Center for Non-Destructive Evaluation of the Johns Hopkins University. Since 1999 he has been a faculty member at UCSD. His research and teaching interests are in the fields of experimental mechanics, smart structures, non-destructive evaluation and structural health monitoring. He was the recipient of the UCSD Structural Engineering Department’s Best Teacher Award, the Structural Health Monitoring Person of the Year Award, and the Fulbright Scholarship, among several other recognitions.  He currently serves on the Editorial Boards of five peer-reviewed journals including SEM’s Experimental Mechanics. He is a Fellow of the Acoustical Society of America and of the American Society for Nondestructive Testing, and a Senior Member of IEEE. 

Carlos Ventura

is a Civil Engineer with specializations in structural dynamics and earthquake engineering. He has been a faculty member of the Department of Civil Engineering at the University of British Columbia (UBC) in Canada since 1992. He is currently the Director of the Earthquake Engineering Research Facility (EERF) at UBC, and is the author of more than 450 papers and reports on earthquake engineering, structural dynamics and modal testing. Dr. Ventura has conducted research about earthquakes and structural dynamics for more than thirty years. In addition to his academic activities, Dr. Ventura is a recognized international consultant on structural vibrations and safety of large Civil Engineering structures. He is a member of the Canadian Academy of Engineering and of the Engineering Institute of Canada, and Fellow of Engineers Canada. He is also a member of several national and international professional societies, advisory committees and several building and bridge code committees.

Fellows List
Members who have been selected for Fellow grade since its inception.

Eric Brown
Jon Rogers
Daniel Inman

Janice Dulieu-Barton
K. Jane Grande-Allen
Xiaodong Li
Hongbing Lu

Hugh Bruck
Wendy C. Crone
Peter G. Ifju
Ghatu Subhash

Archie A.T. Andonian
Weinong (Wayne) Chen
David J. Ewins
Wolfgang Osten

K.T. Ramesh
John Lambros
David Brown
Fabrice Pierron

E. O’Brien
N. Sottos
D. Rittel

J.L.F. Freire
S. Nemat-Nasser
C. Pappalettere
H.V. Tippur

R.J. Allemang
Y. Morimoto
J. Lu
G. Ravichandran

I. Emri
H.D. Espinosa
A. Rosakis

E.A. Patterson
S.C. “Max” Yen

B. Han
K.P. Chong

M. Tuttle
W.C. Wang

S.K. Foss
E.E. Gdoutos

C.T. Liu
M. Takashi
K.M. Liechti

R. Chona
A. Lagarde

G.L. Cloud
J.F. Doyle
R.J. Pryputniewicz

K. Ravi-Chandar
J. McKelvie
Y.J. Chao

Michael M. Lemcoe
Michael A. Sutton
Thomas W. Corby, Jr.

M. Ramulu
M.Y.Y. Hung
J.F. Kalthoff

T. Kunio
S.P. Wnuk, Jr.
J.B. Ligon

M. Nisida (1996-1999)
R. Prabhakaran

I.M. Allison
G.E. Maddux

A. Shukla
J.L. Turner

J.A. Gilbert
T.C. Huang

W.N. Sharpe, Jr.
S.E. Swartz

J.F. Bell (1988-1995)
K.A. Stetson
J. Der Hovanesian

N.J. Hoff (1987-1997)
M.L. Williams, Jr.
W.G. Knauss
C. Lipson (1987-1990)

K.H. Laermann
R.D. Mindlin (1986-1988)
R. Mark
J.T. Pindera

C.P. Burger
K.G. McConnell
G.R. Irwin (1985-1998)
W.F. Ranson

C.W. Bert
M.E. Fourney
H.F. Brinson

F.P. Chiang
W.L. Fourney
T.D. Dudderar
D.R. Harting (1983-1996)

E.E. Day
R.E. Rowlands
E.I. Riegner
C.A. Sciammarella

I.M. Daniel
V.J. Parks
J. Dorsey
C.E. Work

P.H. Adams
L.J. Weymouth (1980-1983)
R.J. Sanford
W.C. Young

J.W. Dalley
R.H. Homewood
L.S. Srinath
D.J. DeMichele (1979-2000)
S.S. Redner
P.S. Theocaris (1979-1999)

J.W. Dally
A.E. Johnson
E.O. Stitz (1978-1997)
M. Holt (1978-1981)
D.E. Niles
W.F. Swinson

G. Ellis (1977-1997)
C.C. Perry
W. Ramberg (1977-1985)
B.E. Rossi (1977-1986)
J.C. Telinde
A.S. Kobayashi
D. Post
W.F. Riley (1977-2000)
C.W. Smith
D.K. Wright (1977-1991)

F.C. Bailey
S.S. Manson
R.E. Peterson (1976-1982)
P.K. Stein
C.E. Taylor
W.T. Bean
F.J. McCormick (1976-2000)
C.R. Smith (1976-1983)
F.B. Stern (1976-1992)
F. Zandman

D.C. Drucker
M. Hentényi (1975-1984)
J.H. Meier
F.G. Tatnall (1975-1981)
A.J. Durelli (1975-2000)
M.M. Leven (1975-1979)
W.M. Murray (1975-1990)
T.J. Dolan (1975-1996)