D. J. DeMichele Scholarship

Dick DeMichele worked very hard to make the International Modal Analysis Conference (IMAC) accessible to everyone. He understood the importance of the discussion and sharing of new ideas in a conference setting. He felt it was especially important to get students in the experimental mechanics field involved in IMAC.


The purpose of this award is to honor and memorialize the generous spirit of Dick DeMichele by providing financial assistance to students traveling to present papers at an IMAC.

Click here for a YouTube video of Dick’s life


Award Guidelines      Award Nomination Form


2019 Recipient

Soheil Sadeghi
Soheil Sadeghi is currently a structural engineering Ph.D. candidate at Lehigh University. His research focus is on developing scalable solutions to bridge health monitoring using abundant smartphone data. The outcome of this study is implementable in large scale for real-time bridge monitoring with no need for dedicated sensing devices other than common smartphones. Initially, he investigated the effect of vehicle suspension dynamics on smartphones vibration readings. In addition, he and his colleagues recently developed a robust algorithm to fully identify the modal characteristics of an existing bridge using randomly collected mobile sensors’ data.

Soheil received his M.S. degree from Sharif University of technology in structural engineering. His master’s thesis was on developing a novel steel component compatible with steel plate shear walls to enhance its dynamic performance and distribute nonlinearities uniformly within the structure. He also had the chance to work as a structural engineer for three years at Rah-Pooyan engineering firm in Iran, during which he was involved in the design of multiple tunnels and bridges.

Past Recipients

The Society acknowledges the following individuals who were given the D.J. DeMichele Scholarship in the past.

2018 - Alfredo Fantetti
2017 - Mathieu Wernsen
2016 - Jason Armand
2015 - Javad Baqersad
2014 - Emiel Barten
2013 - Jean-Philippe Noël
2012 - Siavash Dorvash
2011 - Zhu Mao
2010 - Jan Herrmann
2009 - Aditya C. Gondhalekar
2008 - Dongsheng Li
2007 - H. Sezer Atamturktur
2006 - Francesco Massi, Diego Giraldo, Erik H. Clayton
2005 - Kelly A. Salyards
2004 - Nadine Conza
2003 - Prasenjit Mohanty