Executive Board 2020-2021


Picture of Daniel Rixen
Daniel Rixen

Daniel Rixen, born in 1967, received his engineering degree in Electromechanics and doctoral degree in Applied Sciences from the University of Liège (Belgium), at the Laboratoire de Techniques Aéronautiques et Spatiales (LTAS). He also holds a master degree in Aerospace Vehicle Design from the College of Aeronautics in Cranfield (UK). After a post-doctoral stay at the University of Colorado (Center for Aerospace Structures), he was...
Read More


Picture of Eric N. Brown
Eric N. Brown

Dr. Eric N. Brown is the Division Leader for the Explosive Science and Shock Physics Division at Los Alamos National Laboratory where he oversees the premier research program on energetic materials and dynamic material response in support of National Security. His research has spanned fracture and damage of complex heterogeneous polymers and polymer composites for energetic, reactive, and structural applications including crystalline phase...
Read More



Picture of James P. De Clerck
James P. De Clerck

Dr. James De Clerck is a Professor of Practice in the Mechanical Engineering – Engineering Mechanics Department at Michigan Technological University.  He earned BS, MS and PhD degrees from Michigan Tech, receiving his Ph.D. in Engineering Mechanics in 1991.

Prior to joining the Michigan Tech faculty in 2009, Jim was a Project Design Engineer at the...
Read More


Picture of Jon Rogers
Jon Rogers

Dr. Rogers received his B.S., M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in Engineering Mechanics from Iowa State University in 1980, 1984 and 1986, respectively. Jon joined Sandia in the fall of 1986 in the Vibration Testing Division. In the test organization, he worked as the test engineer for vibration and shock testing on a number of systems. Jon was the project leader for the VIBRAFUGE development project which placed a 4000 lb force rated shaker on the 29-foot...
Read More


Picture of Kristin Zimmerman
Kristin Zimmerman

Dr. Zimmerman became a member of the Society for Experimental Mechanics (SEM) in 1988. She was the inaugural Student Paper Competition Winner under the guidance of Professor Gary Cloud at Michigan State University in 1990; Chair of the Education Committee from 1991-2007; Associate Editor of Experimental Techniques from 1996-today, and Senior Editor from 2000-2007; President from 2008-2009; Assistant Treasurer 2012-2013 and...
Read More


Picture of Nuno Lopes
Nuno Lopes

Nuno Lopes is the Managing Director of the Society for Experimental Mechanics where he is responsible for day-to-day operations including the Society’s three archival peer-reviewed journals. Nuno oversees staff and reports to the Executive Director. He has been with SEM since 2013.

His 14 years at IBM provided experience working with executives and leading a team. Nuno...

Read More



Picture of John Lambros
John Lambros

Prof. Lambros received a B.Eng. degree in Aeronautical Engineering from the Imperial College of Science and Technology of the University of London in 1988, an M.S. degree in Aeronautics from Caltech in 1989, and a Ph.D. degree also in Aeronautics from Caltech in 1994. After a year as a postdoctoral researcher, he joined the Mechanical Engineering department of the University of Delaware as an Assistant Professor in 1995 and moved to the Aerospace...
Read More


Picture of Wendy Crone
Wendy Crone

Wendy C. Crone is the Karen Thompson Medhi Professor in the Department of Engineering Physics with affiliate faculty appointments in the Departments of Biomedical Engineering and Materials Science and Engineering and she holds the title of Discovery Fellow with the Wisconsin Institute for Discovery at the University of Wisconsin–Madison. Her research is in the area of solid mechanics, and many of the topics she has investigated are connected...
Read More


Picture of Javad Baqersad
Javad Baqersad

Dr. Javad Baqersad is the director of Noise, Vibration, Harshness, and Experimental Mechanics Laboratory (NVHEM Lab) at Kettering University. He received his Ph.D. in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Massachusetts Lowell in 2015. He also holds Master of Science degrees in Mechanical Engineering and Automotive Engineering. His research interests and expertise are related to vibration and acoustics, tire and vehicle...
Read More


Picture of Samantha Daly
Samantha Daly

Samantha (Sam) Daly is an Associate Professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at the University of California at Santa Barbara. She received her Ph.D. from Caltech in 2007 and subsequently joined the University of Michigan, where she was on the faculty until 2016 prior to her move to UCSB. Her interests lie at the intersection of experimental mechanics and materials science, with an emphasis on using novel methods of experimentation coupled...
Read More


Picture of Jeffrey Helm
Jeffrey Helm

Jeffrey D. Helm received his Ph.D. in Mechanical Engineering from the University of South Carolina in 1999 and was one of the founding members of Correlated Solutions Inc. He is currently an associate professor in the Mechanical Engineering Department at Lafayette College. Dr. Helm served as chair of the Education Committee, is a member of SEMEF, was the editor-in-chief of Experimental Techniques and continues on as an associate editor for the...
Read More


Picture of Janice Dulieu-Barton
Janice Dulieu-Barton

Janice Dulieu-Barton was appointed in May 2019 as a full Professor of Experimental Mechanics in the Bristol Composites Institute at the University of Bristol in the UK. Prior to this she worked at the University of Southampton for 20 years in the School of Engineering. She received her PhD from the University of Manchester in 1993 where she started her research on the topic now known as ‘Thermoelastic stress analysis’. She has published...
Read More


Picture of Brandon Dilworth
Brandon Dilworth

Brandon Dilworth is currently an Assistant Group Leader in the Mechanical Engineering Group at MIT Lincoln Laboratory. Brandon holds a BS (2004) in Mechanical Engineering with a Minor in Acoustics from Kettering University and MS (2006) and Ph.D. (2009) degrees in Mechanical Engineering from Michigan Technological University. Brandon started as a Technical Staff member at MIT Lincoln Laboratory in 2009, working as a design and structural dynamics...
Read More


Picture of Gregory Tipton
Gregory Tipton

Dr. Gregory Tipton is a Distinguished Member of the Research and Development Staff at Sandia National Laboratories in Albuquerque, New Mexico. He’s been at Sandia since 1994 and has held a variety of positions in both the systems engineering and engineering mechanics organizations. Since 2000 he has worked in the Engineering Sciences Center conducting research in the areas of computational mechanics, structural dynamics, and...
Read More


Picture of Kendra Van Buren
Kendra Van Buren

Kendra Van Buren has been a staff member in the Computational Physics Division at Los Alamos National Laboratory (LANL) since 2015. She completed her Ph.D in Civil Engineering at Clemson University in 2012 before going to LANL as a post-doctoral research associate in the Engineering Institute. During her post-doc, she contributed to international collaborations by spending one month as a visiting researcher at the Engineering Institute-Korea in...
Read More


Picture of Junlan Wang
Junlan Wang

Junlan Wang is a Professor of Mechanical Engineering at the University of Washington. Her research focuses on mechanics of thin films/multilayers, biological and bioinspired materials, high strain rate phenomena, and additively manufactured materials. She received her B.S. (1994) and M.S. (1997) in Mechanics and Mechanical Engineering from the University of Science and Technology of China, and Ph.D. (2002) in Theoretical and Applied Mechanics...
Read More