F. Zandman

In May 1989 the SEM Executive Board formally established the Felix Zandman Award. The award honors Dr. Zandman for his extensive work with photoelastic coatings and his support of SEM. The recipient receives an award plaque. Also, a donation is given in the recipient’s name to the SEM Education Foundation.

The award honors individuals who have made significant contributions to the development of measurements or applications utilizing photoelastic coatings or strain measurement techniques. The selection will be based upon the best paper published by SEM or any other recognized journal which publishes photoelastic coatings or strain measurement techniques papers. Alternatively, a person who may not have published an outstanding paper, but has distinguished him or herself in other ways in the use of photoelastic coatings or strain measurement techniques may also be nominated. The first recipient to be recognized in 1990 was Alex S. Redner.

Award Guidelines      Award Nomination Form


2021 Recipient

Picture of Fabrice Pierron

In recognition of significant contributions strain measurement techniques including development of the Virtual Fields Method and longstanding leadership of Strain.

Fabrice Pierron
Dr. Fabrice Pierron is currently Professor at the University of Southampton, UK. He graduated from ENSEM in Nancy, France, in 1989, and received his PhD from Lyon University, France, in 1994. Prof. Pierron is an expert in the development of novel identification strategies based on full-field measurements and heterogeneous tests. In particular, he has been instrumental in the development of the Virtual Fields Method. He has published over 140 journal papers and co-authored more than 300 conference communications. He has been Editor-in-Chief of Strain and Associate Editor of Experimental Mechanics. He is a cofounder of the MatchID company.

The Society acknowledges the following individuals who were given the F. Zandman Award in the past.
2020 - Veronica Eliasson 2019 - Venkitanarayanan Parameswaran 2018 - Michael B. Prime
2017 - Ryszard Pryputniewicz 2016 - Peter Ifju 2015 - Wei-Chung Wang
2014 - Robert E. Rowlands 2013 - James P. Hubner 2012 - Krishnamurthi Ramesh
2011 - Emmanuel Gdoutos 2010 - Philippe Brailly 2009 - Terry Yuan-Fang Chen
2008 - Michel R. Taroni 2007 - B. (Bob) Ziv 2006 - John Curtis
2005 - Jon Lesniak 2004 - Eann A. Patterson 2003 - Ian J. Jones
2001 - Nathalie Plouzennec 2000 - Loic M. Dejardin 1999 - T.W. Corby, Jr.
1998 - Jose L.F. Freire 1997 - Samuel C. Gambrell, Jr. 1996 - Ronald Slaminko
1994 - Samuel C. Gambrell, Jr. 1993 - Jacek Stupnecki 1992 - Edward W. O’Brien
1991 - Wayne E. Nickola 1990 - Alex S. Redner