S. Nemat-Nasser

Professor Nemat-Nasser, Distinguished Professor of Mechanics and Materials, is the Director of UCSD’s Center of Excellence for Advanced Materials. He studies how materials respond to thermo-mechanical loads imposed by their environment, and how they may fatigue or fail over time. He is especially interested in the mechanics of ceramics, ceramic composites, high strength alloys and superalloys, rocks and geomaterials, and advanced metallic and polymeric composites with electromagnetic, self-healing, and self-sensing functionality; ionic polymer-metal composites as soft actuators/sensors, and shape-memory alloys. He has a history of realizing the impact of experimental mechanics on various scientific and engineering fields, to develop novel materials with new properties. A very brief bio follows:

Sia Nemat-Nasser arrived in the USA in 1958 from Iran. B.S, Sacramento State U, 1960; M.S., 1961, and Ph.D. 1964, UC Berkeley. Assistant professor, Sacramento State U, 1961-62. post-doc, 1964-66, Northwestern U; assistant and associate professor, 1966-70, UCSD; professor, 1970-85, Northwestern U; professor, 1985-present, UCSD. His awards and honors include: Nat’l. Acad. Eng.: Member 2001. ASME: Stephen P. Timoshenko Medal 2008; Mater. Div. establishes Sia Nemat-Nasser Early Career Medal 2008 (focused on underrepresented minorities & women in engineering); Robert Henry Thurston Lecture Award 2006; Honorary Member 2005; Aerosp. Div., Adaptive Struct. & Mater. Systems Best Paper of the Year Award 2003; Nadai Medal 2002; Life Fellow 2001; Chair, Mater. Div. 1997-98; Fellow 1979. ASCE: Theodore von Karman Medal 2008. Sacramento State U: Distinguished Alumni Award 2008. SEM: B.J. Lazan Award 2007; W.M. Murray Medal 2009. SES: William Prager Medal 2002; Founding Fellow 1988; Pres. 1979-80. AAM: Pres. 1996-97, Secy 1989-94, Fellow 1970. World Innovation Foundation: Honorary Member 2004. Tech. Inst.: Willard F. Rockwell Medal 2003. UCSD: Faculty Research Lecturer Award 2005; Sch. Eng./MAE Teacher of the Year Award, 2000-01, 1996-97, & 1994-95; John Dove Isaacs Chair in Natural Philosophy,1995-00. Alburz Educational Foundation Prize 1975.

Award Guidelines      Award Nomination Form

2017 Recipient
For your contributions to nonlinear viscoelasticity and leadership in the experimental mechanics community and industry in the United States and Europe.

Igor Emri
University of Ljubljana, Faculty of Mechanical Engineering, Center for Experimental Mechanics, and Institute for Sustainable Innovative Technologies.

Igor Emri is a Chair Professor of Mechanics at the Faculty of Mechanical Engineering, University of Ljubljana and President of the Institute for Sustainable Innovative Technologies, EEIG. He has developed an innovative theoretical-experimental approach, known as Knauss-Emri model, to study the non-linear behavior of time-dependent materials. His current research activities are focused on non-linear time-dependent behavior of dissipative systems with the emphasis on behavior of solid polymers and their nano-, micro-, and macro-composites and granular systems.
He is one of the founders and Editor-in-Chief of the international journal »Mechanics of Time Dependent Materials«, published by Springer. He is a fellow grade member of the Society of Experimental Mechanics (USA), Russian Academy of Engineering, Russian Academy of Natural Sciences, European Academy of Sciences and Arts, European Academy of Sciences, Slovenian Academy of Engineering, Slovenian Academy of Sciences and Arts, and Honorary Member of the Ukrainian Academy of Engineering. He is the Chairman of the Science Europe Scientific Advisory Committee, and a past president of the Society of Experimental Mechanics and the International Committee on Rhelogy (ICR).
Past Recipients
The Society acknowledges the following individuals who were given the Sia Nemat Nasser Medal in the past.

2015 - A. Rosakis
2013 - H. Espinoza
2011 - S. Nemat-Nass