D. J. DeMichele Scholarship

Dick DeMichele worked very hard to make the International Modal Analysis Conference (IMAC) accessible to everyone. He understood the importance of the discussion and sharing of new ideas in a conference setting. He felt it was especially important to get students in the experimental mechanics field involved in IMAC.

The purpose of this award is to honor and memorialize the generous spirit of Dick DeMichele by providing financial assistance to students traveling to present papers at an IMAC.

Click here for a YouTube video of Dick’s life

All materials specified in Award Guidelines are due at the time of paper submission as outlined in the Call for Papers and the website at https://sem.org/imac.

Award Guidelines      Award Nomination Form


2020 Recipient

Picture of Andrea Lupini

Andrea Lupini
Andrea Lupini is a Ph.D. candidate in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at the University of Michigan. His research blends state-of-the-art computational tools and novel damping concepts for the characterization and reduction of vibration in turbomachinery blisks. The computational methods he developed can be implemented by aircraft engine manufacturers to ensure the reliability of bisks during the design phase, in particular addressing the issue of repairs, or blends. His current focus is on the design and improvement of novel nonlinear vibration damping concepts applied to turbomachinery blisks.

In the past, he collaborated with the sports car manufacturer Ferrari and electric vehicle producer Tesla, working on durability and vibrations. Andrea holds a Bachelor’s degree and a Master’s degree in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Parma, and a classical guitar diploma from the Conservatory of Parma.

The Society acknowledges the following individuals who were given the D.J. DeMichele Scholarship in the past.
2019 - Soheil Sadeghi 2018 - Alfredo Fantetti 2017 - Mathieu Wernsen
2016 - Jason Armand 2015 - Javad Baqersad 2014 - Emiel Barten
2013 - Jean-Philippe Noël 2012 - Siavash Dorvash 2011 - Zhu Mao
2010 - Jan Herrmann 2009 - Aditya C. Gondhalekar 2008 - Dongsheng Li
2007 - H. Sezer Atamturktur 2006 - Francesco Massi, Diego Giraldo, Erik H. Clayton 2005 - Kelly A. Salyards
2004 - Nadine Conza 2003 - Prasenjit Mohanty