D. J. DeMichele Award

This award, established in 1990 in honor of Dominick J. DeMichele (1916-2000), recognizes an individual who has demonstrated “exemplary service and support of promoting the science and educational aspects of modal analysis technology.” This award is presented annually at the International Modal Analysis Conference.

Dominick J. DeMichele was the past director of the International Modal Analysis Conference (IMAC), having directed 13 annual IMACs, and was founder and president of Instrumentation and Measurement Technology Services. He held a B.S.M.E. from Rensselaer and was also a graduate of the New York Diesel Institute. He joined the mechanical engineering department of the general engineering laboratory at the General Electric Company, Schenectady, NY, in 1940 as a project engineer and retired from GE in 1979. He received the coveted Charles E. Coffin Award, the company’s highest award to its employees, for his contribution in the field of solid mechanics (vibration, shock, stress-strain and acoustics). While at GE, Mr. DeMichele was awarded four patents: High Temperature Strain Gages; Strain Gages; Method for Making Resistance Strain Gages; and Strain Gage Pressure Transducer.

Mr. DeMichele was a 42-year member and a Fellow of SEM. He was chair of two national meetings, a member of the Executive Board, a member of the Technical Papers Committee, chair of the national technical session on high temperature strain gages, and organizer and first chairman of the New York-Hudson Local Section of the Society. He was a senior member of the Instrument Society of America and of the American Society for Nondestructive Testing. He served as a member of the National Academy of Sciences Instrumentation Committee for the American Association of Highway Officials Road Test. Mr. DeMichele was appointed a member of the National Commission on Technical Education of the National Science Foundation. He published numerous technical papers and in-house reports covering the development of high-temperature strain gages, special projects in strain gage applications, vibration, acoustics and other measurement programs.

Click here for a YouTube video of Dick’s life

Award Guidelines      Award Nomination Form

2018 Recipient
in recognition of his exemplary service and support in promoting the science and educational aspects of modal analysis technology.

Charles D. Van Karsen
Charles D. Van Karsen has been a member of the Michigan Tech Department of Mechanical Engineering - Engineering Mechanics since August 1987. Prior to this he had a twelve year career as a practicing engineer in the Machine Tool, Automotive, and Software industries. He specializes in Experimental Vibro-Acoustics, NVH, and Structural Dynamics. His research efforts have concentrated on experimental noise and vibration methods related to automotive systems and subsystems, large home appliances, machine tools, and off-highway equipment. Chuck regularly presents seminars and short courses on Experimental Modal Analysis, Digital Signal Processing, Acoustic Measurements and Sound Quality, and Source-Path-Receiver methods. At Michigan Tech, Chuck teaches Mechanical Vibrations, Experimental Vibro-Acoustics, Analytical and Experimental Modal Analysis, Mechanical Engineering Laboratory, and Controls. He received his BSME and MSME degrees from the University of Cincinnati. Chuck is currently a member of the Modal Analysis Technical Division and has served on the Executive Board of SEM.
Past Recipients
The Society acknowledges the following individuals who were given the D.J. DeMichele Award in the past.

2017 - M. Schiefer
2016 - M. Todd
2015 - R. Mayes
2014 - K. Worden
2013 - C. Farrar
2012 - R. Singhal
2011 - M. Richardson
2010 - F.M. Hemez
2009 - D.E. Adams
2008 - A. Cunha
2007 - D.J. Inman
2006 - W.R. Shapton
2005 - J. Lally
2004 - P. Avitabile
2003 - C. Ventura
2002 - R. Craig
2001 - S. Ibrahim
2000 - T.G. Carne
1999 - A.L. Wicks
1998 - R. Allemang
1997 - K.G. McConnell
1996 - N. Okubo
1995 - L.D. Mitchell
1994 - T.C. Huang
1993 - D.J. Ewins
1992 - D.L. Brown
1991 - B. Piombo
1990 - D.J. DeMichele