Susan K. Foss

In memory of Given A. Brewer, Teledyne Engineering Services, Waltham, Massachuetts, established the Brewer Teledyne Award in 1989 (now called Brewer Award).

Mr. Brewer created Brewer Engineering Laboratories. As its director, Mr. Brewer carried out over 700 projects using experimental and theoretical techniques. His business was later sold to Teledyne and he became a consultant to the company. Mr. Brewer was a valued member of SEM and was active in both leadership and technical activities. The annual award will consist of an award plaque in the recipient’s name.

The criteria for the award stipulates that it be given to “an outstanding practicing experimentalist” chosen by the Honors Committee. The award is intended as recognition of skill in the practical application of experimental mechanics techniques. A person whose primary affiliation is with a university would be eligible if substantial amounts of consulting work involved hands-on experimental analysis. The first Brewer-Teledyne award was presented in June, 1989 to (Mrs.) Heidi Brewer in her husband’s memory.

Award Guidelines      Award Nomination Form


2023 Recipient

Picture of Yuanchang Chen

In recognition of...

Yuanchang Chen
Dr. Yuanchang Chen is currently a Mechanical Engineer at Applied Materials, Inc. He received his Ph.D. degree in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Massachusetts Lowell in 2019 under the guidance of Dr. Peter Avitabile. His industrial and university experience includes modal analysis and testing, analytical and experimental structural dynamics, vibration, finite element analysis, and model correlation and updating. He is an active researcher and has written over 40 journal and conference papers. He also served as a technical editor of Experimental Techniques since 2020.

The Society acknowledges the following individuals who were given the Brewer Award in the past.
2022 - Michael Hill 2021 - Jennifer Jordan 2020 - Daniel Casem
2019 - John Considine 2018 - Gary Foss 2017 - Charles Farrar
2015 - Phillip Reu 2014 - Randall Mayes 2012 - Hubert W. Schreier
2010 - Richard Mark French 2009 - C.T. Wu 2008 - Edwin O’Brien
2006 - Richard L. Burguete 2005 - Ron Slaminko 2004 - James L. Turner
2003 - Kenneth G. McConnell 2002 - Arkady Voloshin 2001 - Bongtae Han
2000 - Bradley Boyce 1999 - Susan K. Foss 1998 - Robert C. Schwarz
1997 - David W. Windstein 1996 - Jonathan S. Epstein 1995 - Gene E. Maddux
1994 - A. Umit Kutsay 1993 - Stephen Wnuk 1992 - Jan Cernosek
1991 - Ferdi B. Stern 1990 - Burke C. Dykes 1989 - Heidi Brewer