Four SEM Members Become Members of the NAE
Monday, April 27, 2020
by: SEM Staff

Section: Members

Four long-standing active members of SEM are among the newly elected members of the US National Academy of Engineering announced recently. The SEM members newly inducted into the Academy, and their corresponding citations, are listed below in alphabetical order:
Emri Igor   Prof. Igor EmriUniversity of Ljubljana, Slovenia, International Member: For contributions to the testing and modeling of time-dependent materials, and to novel sound and vibration isolation materials.
Read more
Horacio Espinosa   Prof. Horacio D. EspinosaJames and Nancy Farley Professor of Mechanical Engineering, Northwestern University, Evanston, IL: For contributions bridging nanoscale experimentation and atomistic simulations.
Read more
Nancy Sottos   Prof. Nancy R. Sottos Swanlund Chair, Materials Science and Engineering, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, IL: For contributions to the design and applications of self-healing and multifunctional materials.
Read more
Michael Sutton   Prof. Michael A. SuttonDistinguished Professor, Mechanical and Biomedical Engineering, University of South Carolina, Columbia, SC: For creation of digital image correlation-based measurement technology and its dissemination through commercialization and applications in industry.
Read more
These members have been active for many years at SEM and on many occasions have presented their most recent findings at SEM conferences and have disseminated their research through the Society's Journal publications. In addition, they have all contributed in many ways to the SEM and have also been recipients of many of the Society's honors and awards: All four have been elected Fellows of SEM, all four have in the past received the Lazan award for outstanding original technical contributions to experimental mechanics, and among them have garnered an impressive array of 11 additional SEM awards including the Frocht, Hetenyi, Nemat-Nasser, Peterson, Tatnall, Taylor and Theocaris awards. Three of the awardees are Past Presidents of the Society (Emri, Sottos, Sutton), three are former editors-in-chief of the Society's flagship journal Experimental Mechanics (Espinosa, Sottos, Sutton) and two have also delivered the Murray lecture which is the Society's prestige lecture (Espinosa, Sutton).
It is a great honor and privilege for our Society to have been a forum for incubating many of the contributions that led to these recognitions, so please congratulate the awardees whenever you next see them in person at a gathering of the SEM. This has been a great year for SEM member recognition by the National Academy and the newest four members join a number of SEM members who are already part of the National Academy of Engineering including J. Dally, D. Dudderer, S. Nemat-Nasser, W.G. Knauss, A.S. Kobayashi, G. Ravichandran, and A.J. Rosakis.
Post a Comment