C. E. Taylor

The C.E. Taylor Award shall be bestowed upon an SEM member who demonstrates both technical excellence in optical stress analysis and good citizenship within SEM. Guidelines for the award are as follows: No individual shall receive the award more than once; the award shall be given biannually, provided that a suitable candidate is identified; Technical excellence in optical stress analysis is intended to be all encompassing, where optical analysis is to be taken in its broadest sense.

Technical excellence in optical stress analysis shall be demonstrated by meritorious technical accomplishments in one or more aspects of optical analysis. Optical analysis includes but is not limited to the (a) development of optical techniques for applications and (b) application of optical techniques for measurement of stress, strain, displacement or other physical phenomenon (e.g., corrosion, temperature, flaw detection).

Good Citizenship shall be defined as the demonstrated commitment of an individual to the betterment of the Society for Experimental Mechanics and the field of experimental mechanics in general. Since there are many ways that an individual can contribute to the betterment of SEM and the field of experimental mechanics, the award will consider all SEM members, regardless of position held within the Society, and will ensure that these candidates are supportive of SEM and its philosophy.

Award Guidelines      Award Nomination Form

2017 Recipient
In recognition of his distinguished technical contributions to the field of experimental mechanics and the good citizenship that he has repeatedly demonstrated as a loyal and dedicated member of the society

William Fourney
W. L. (Bill) Fourney is currently Keystone Professor and Associate Dean at the University of Maryland and holds a joint appointment in the Aerospace Engineering Department and the Mechanical Engineering Department. He received his BS in Aerospace Engineering and his MS in Theoretical and Applied Mechanics from West Virginia University. His PhD in Theoretical and Applied Mechanics was received from the University of Illinois in 1966. His research interests are in experimental mechanics and fracture mechanics – primarily from a dynamic aspect. He has published approximately 250 articles describing the results of his research in dynamic material response, fracture, and crack arrest – including approximately 40 reports to the sponsors of his research. These sponsors have included NSF, AFOSR, ONR, ARO, NRC, ARL, DOE, NSWC, Oak Ridge National Labs and, the Los Alamos National Labs. He has served as a consultant for Gillett Research Labs, Versar, Allegheny Ballistics Lab, Harry Diamond Labs, Los Alamos National Labs, and SAIC. He is active in the Society for Experimental Mechanics (SEM) and the International Society for Explosives Engineering (ISEE). In SEM he has been elected to fellow grade membership. Within ISEE he is currently Editor of Blasting & Fragmentation.. He is also a member of the American Society for Mechanical Engineers (ASME), American Society for Testing Materials (ASTM), the American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE), the American Society for Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA), and the American Helicopter Society (AHS). Within ASTM he served as Chairman of the Crack Arrest Technical Committee.
Past Recipients
The Society acknowledges the following individuals who were given the C. E. Taylor Award in the past.

2014 - I.M. Daniel
2012 - A. Shukla
2010 - C.W. Smith
2008 - M.A. Sutton
2006 - D. Post
2004 - M.E. Fourney
2002 - J.W. Dally
2000 - C.E.Taylor