M. M. Frocht

Mr. Max Mark Frocht was honored for his professional accomplishments by the 1967 initiation of the M.M. Frocht Award. The award recognizes “outstanding achievement as an educator in the field of experimental mechanics,” and is presented annually.

Dr. Frocht’s work on photoelasticity research on stress concentration factors and 3-D techniques and his two-volume treatise on photoelasticity is considered a classic and has been translated into Russian, Spanish, and Chinese. Its publication was credited with revitalizing interest in photoelasticity.

Dr. Frocht was a student of Steven Timoshenko and many of his own students have made important contributions to the field of experimental mechanics. He presented papers and lectures on photoelasticity and experimental stress analysis in all parts of the world.

Award Guidelines      Award Nomination Form

2017 Recipient
In recognition of his/her outstanding achievements as an educator in the field of experimental mechanics.

Alberto Carpinteri
Alberto Carpinteri received his Doctoral Degrees in Nuclear Engineering cum Laude (1976) and in Mathematics cum Laude (1981) from the University of Bologna in Italy. He has been Chair Professor of Mechanics of Solids and Structures since 1986 at the Politecnico di Torino (Technical University of Turin), where he held different positions of responsibility. Prof. Carpinteri was a Visiting Scientist at Lehigh University, Pennsylvania (1982-1983), and was appointed as a Fellow of several Academies and Professional Societies. He is presently the Head of the Engineering Division in the European Academy of Sciences.

Prof. Carpinteri was the President of different Scientific Associations and Research Institutions: the International Congress on Fracture, ICF (2009-2013), the European Structural Integrity Society, ESIS (2002-2006), the International Association of Fracture Mechanics for Concrete and Concrete Structures, lA-FraMCoS (2004-2007), and served as a Member in the Executive Board of the Society for Experimental Mechanics, SEM (2012-2014).He is the author or editor of over 850 publications, of which more than 350 are papers in refereed international journals (Scopus H-Index=44, more than 7000 citations) and 52 are books or journal special issues. Prof. Carpinteri received numerous Honours and Awards: the Robert L'Hermite Medal from RILEM (1982), the Griffith Medal from ESIS (2008), the Swedlow Memorial Lecture Award from ASTM (2011), and the Inaugural Paul Paris Gold Medal from ICF (2013).

Past Recipients
The Society acknowledges the following individuals who were given the M.M. Frocht Award in the past.

2016 - L. Virgin
2015 - J. Lambros
2014 - W. L. Fourney
2013 - W. C. Crone
2012 - S. Nemat-Nasser
2011 - N. Sottos
2010 - E.A. Patterson
2009 - F.-P. Chiang
2008 - R.J. Pryputniewicz
2007 - M.A. Sutton
2006 - I.M. Daniel
2005 - D. Brown
2004 - A. Cardon
2003 - A. Rosakis
2002 - D.J. Ewins
2001 - A. Shukla
2000 - G.L. Cloud
1999 - P.K. Stein
1998 - L.W. Zachary
1997 - J. Der Hovanesian
1996 - W.N. Sharpe
1995 - A.S. Kobayashi
1994 - R.J. Sanford
1993 - C.E. Work
1992 - I.M. Allison
1991 - J.F. Doyle
1990 - J.B. Ligon
1989 - T.W. Corby, Jr
1988 - D. Post
1987 - R.E. Rowlands
1986 - W.F. Swinson
1985 - K.G. McConnell
1984 - C.P. Burger
1983 - C.W. Smith
1982 - T. Kunio
1981 - V.J. Parks
1980 - C.A. Sciammarella
1979 - E.E. Day
1978 - J.T. Pindera
1977 - W.F. Riley
1976 - J.W. Dally
1975 - D.K. Wright
1974 - R.D. Mindlin
1973 - P. Stein
1972 - E.O. Stitz
1971 - D.C. Drucker
1970 - W.M. Murray
1969 - C.E. Taylor
1968 - M.M. Frocht