G. A. Brewer

In memory of Given A. Brewer, Teledyne Engineering Services, Waltham, Massachuetts, established the Brewer Teledyne Award in 1989 (now called Brewer Award).

Mr. Brewer created Brewer Engineering Laboratories. As its director, Mr. Brewer carried out over 700 projects using experimental and theoretical techniques. His business was later sold to Teledyne and he became a consultant to the company. Mr. Brewer was a valued member of SEM and was active in both leadership and technical activities. The annual award will consist of an award plaque in the recipient’s name.

The criteria for the award stipulates that it be given to “an outstanding practicing experimentalist” chosen by the Honors Committee. The award is intended as recognition of skill in the practical application of experimental mechanics techniques. A person whose primary affiliation is with a university would be eligible if substantial amounts of consulting work involved hands-on experimental analysis. The first Brewer-Teledyne award was presented in June, 1989 to (Mrs.) Heidi Brewer in her husband’s memory.

Award Guidelines      Award Nomination Form

2017 Recipient
In recognition of her/his contributions as an outstanding practicing experimental stress analyst.

Charles Farrar
Charles “Chuck” Farrar is a Los Alamos National Laboratory (LANL) Fellow and the leader of LANL’s Engineering Institute. In 1988 he earned a Ph.D. in civil engineering from the University of New Mexico. His research interests have focused on developing integrated hardware and software solutions to structural health monitoring problems. Working jointly with engineering faculty at the University of California, San Diego (UCSD) since 2003, he has developed the LANL/UCSD Engineering Institute with a research focus on integrating advanced predictive modeling capabilities with novel sensing systems and information technology to solve challenging multi-disciplinary engineering problems related to LANL’s national security mission.
Past Recipients
The Society acknowledges the following individuals who were given the Brewer Award in the past.

2015 - P. Reu
2014 - R. Mayes
2012 - H. Schreier
2010 - R.M. French
2009 - C.T. Wu
2008 - E. O’Brien
2006 - R. Burguete
2005 - R. Slaminko
2004 - J.L. Turner
2003 - K.G. McConnell
2002 - A. Voloshin
2001 - B. Han
2000 - B.R. Boyce
1999 - S. K. Foss
1998 - R.C. Schwarz
1997 - D.W. Windstein
1996 - J.S. Epstein
1995 - G.E. Maddux
1994 - A.U. Kutsay
1993 - S. Wnuk
1992 - J. Cernosek
1991 - F.B. Stern
1990 - B.C. Dykes
1989 - H. Brewer