Society for Experimental Mechanics
Site Search           

Dominick J. Demichele Scholarship Award

Dick DeMichele worked very hard to make the International Modal Analysis Conference (IMAC) accessible to everyone.  He understood the importance of the discussion and sharing of new ideas in a conference setting.  He felt it was especially important to get students in the experimental mechanics field involved in IMAC.

The purpose of this award is to honor and memorialize the generous spirit of Dick DeMichele by providing financial assistance to students traveling to present papers at an IMAC. 

The Award Consists of:

(1) Reimbursement of all (student-rate) IMAC conference fees paid by the recipient(s).

(2) Reimbursement of all reasonable travel expenses incurred by the recipient(s) in attending the IMAC conference where the presentation is made.

(3) Recognition of the recipient(s) through presentation of a framed certificate at the Conference Luncheon and Awards Ceremonies conducted in conjunction with the IMAC at which the presentation is made.

Criteria for Selection:

The recipient shall be a student in good standing at a recognized college or university.

The recipient shall be the designated presenter of a paper that has been accepted for presentation at a forthcoming IMAC.

The recipient shall preferably be a first-time presenter at an IMAC.

Nominations for the Award: 

Nominations of potential recipients should be made to the IMAC Program Planning Committee by SEM Members and/or the student’s major professor. The nomination shall consist of a letter; a brief resume of the student; a short discussion of the relevance of the paper topic to the IMAC conference; and a statement detailing why the nominator believes that the nominee should receive the award. Send nominations to IMAC Program Planning Committee, c/o Tom Proulx, Managing Director, SEM, 7 School Street, Bethel, CT 06801, (203) 790-6373, fax: (203) 790-4472, email:


Recipients of the award:


2014 Emiel Barten
2013 Jean-Philippe Noël
2012 Siavash Dorvash
2011 Zhu Mao
2010 Jan Herrmann
2009 Aditya C. Gondhalekar
2008 Dongsheng Li
2007 H. Sezer Atamturktur
2006 Francesco Massi, Diego Giraldo, Erik H. Clayton
2005 Kelly A. Salyards
2004 Nadine Conza
2003 Prasenjit Mohanty


2014 Dominick J. DeMichele Scholarship Award: Emiel Barten

I am a 24 years old Dutch Master student from the Mechanical Engineering Department of the Delft University of Technology at which I hope to graduate December 2013 with a specialisation in Engineering Dynamics. As part of my Master I did two internships: The first was at the National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (AIST) in Japan about bio-mechanics. The aim was to develop a system which could capture the full human gait with a only limited number of sensors. My second internship was at Chalmers University of Technology in Sweden about Dynamic Substructuring. The goal here was to couple components of a small wind turbine. Albeit not sure at this point, after my graduation I am planning to find a challenging job in industry in the field of Engineering Dynamics.










Copyright © 2002-2014. Society for Experimental Mechanics, Inc.   All Rights Reserved.   Web Designer: WebGrow.