Society for Experimental Mechanics
Site Search           

2014 SEM Fall Conference and

International Symposium on Intensive Loading and Its Effects

The 2014 SEM Fall Conference and  in conjunction with International Symposium on Intensive Loading and Its Effects in Beijing will provide a forum for researchers and engineers to exchange latest progress in the broad area of experimental mechanics and mechanics of materials and structures, such as advanced experimental and diagnostic techniques, mechanical response of materials and structures, materials modeling and experimental validation and verification, stress/shock wave propagation and applications.



Society for Experimental Mechanics, USA.

Chinese Society of Experimental Mechanics

Chinese Society of Explosion Mechanics

State Key Lab for Explosion Science & Technology (Beijing Institute of Technology)

Collaborative Innovation Center of Safety and Protection

State Key Lab of Material Technology under Shock Impact (Beijing Institute of Technology)

Asian Society of Experimental Mechanics



Conference Location    

2014 SEM Fall Conference  in conjunction with the International Symposium on Intensive Loading and Its Effects will be held at The Friendship Hotel of Beijing in Haidian District, Beijing. The Friendship Hotel of Beijing is one of the largest garden-style hotels in Asia. Located in the heart of Zhong Guan Cun Hi-Tech Zone, the Friendship Hotel neighbors many world famous tourist sites and universities such as the Summer Palace, Tsinghua University, Peking University, and Beijing Institute of Technology. The Friendship Hotel of Beijing represents classic Chinese architectural elegance and presents most pleasurable views.

Click here for hotel website.

19-22 October 2014

The Friendship Hotel

Beijing, China





Conference Links   Important Dates    


SEM Conference Brochure

SEM How to Reach Conference Venue

SEM Technical Program

SEM  Poster Program

SEM Information for Presenters


Abstract submission:

Full paper submission:

Notification of full paper acceptance: Camera-ready manuscript sub.:


On-site registration:



30 April 2014

31 May 2014

30 April 2014

31 May 2014

31 May 2014

19-22 October 2014

19-22 October 2014



Registration Fee

A registration includes one copy of the conference proceedings, banquet, lunches, morning and afternoon teas, attendance of all technical sessions, and conference tour. Each full-registration entitles the delegate to present one paper; each student registration entitles the student attendee to present one paper.

The registration fee for an accompanying person covers a name badge, the welcome reception, lunches, the banquet, and conference tour.

Full Registration

Student Registration

Accompanying persons

Before 15 August 2014
After 15 August 2014

$700 or ¥4200

$750 or ¥4500

$450 or ¥2700

$500 or ¥3000

$450 or ¥2700

$500 or ¥3000




Conference Chairman

QifengYu (National University of Defense Technology, China)



Emmuanuel Gdoutos (President of Society for Experimental Mechanics, Democritus University of Thrace, Greece)

Fenglei Huang (Beijing Institute of Technology, China)
Wei-Chung Wang (Tsing Hua University, Taiwan, China)


Organizing Committee Chairman

Qingming Zhang (Beijing Institute of Technology, China)


International Co-Chairman

Tom Proulx (Society for Experimental Mechanics, USA)

Bo Song (SEM-Dynamic Behavior of Materials Technical Division Representative, Sandia National Laboratories, USA)

Huimin Xie (Tsinghua University, China)
Yu-Lung Lo (Cheng Kung University, Taiwan, China)



Jinlong Chen (Tianjin University, China)

Jun Cheng (North University of China, China)

Xingwang Cheng (Beijing Institute of Technology, China)

Xinglong Gong (University of Science and Technology of China, China)

Helena Jin (Sandia National Laboratories, USA)

Jamie Kimberley (New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology)

Satoshi Kishimoto (National Institute for Material Science, Japan)

Hongbing Lu (Univ. of Texas Dallas, USA)

Xide Li (Tsinghua University, China)

Yan Liu (Beijing Institute of Technology, China)

Zhuang Ma (Beijing Institute of Technology, China)

Jianbin Men (Beijing Institute of Technology, China)

Kemao Qian (Nanyang Technological University, Singapore)

Jinjun Wang (Beihang University, China)

Liqiong Wang (Beijing Institute of Technology, China)

Qingyuan Wang (Sichuan University, China)

Wenjie Wang (Beijing Institute of Technology, China)

Junlan Wang ( University of Washington , USA)

Zhaoyang Wang(Catholic University of America, USA)

Yongming Xing(Inner Mongolia University, China)

Qingchuan Zhang (University of Science and Technology of China)



Secretariat - Email

Cheng Wang (Beijing Institute of Technology, China)

Liqiong Wang (Beijing Institute of Technology, China)

Lin Wang (Beijing Institute of Technology, China)

Rui Liang (Beijing Institute of Technology, China)

Baoqiao Guo(Beijing Institute of Technology, China)

International Advisory Committee


Yilong Bai (Institute of Mechanics, Chinese Academy of Science, China)


International Scientific Committee


Fenglei Huang (Beijing Institute of Technology, China)


Yilan Kang (Tianjin University, China)

Xiaoyuan He (Southeast University, China)

Qingyuan Wang(Sichuan University, China)


Members       Members    

Anand Asundi—Singapore

Eric N BrownUSA

Hongnian CaiChina

Yuh-Jin ChaoUSA

Fu-Pen ChiangUSA

Daining FangChina

Jing FangChina

Pascal ForquinFrance

Haiyan HuChina

Peiyan HuangChina

Yilan KangChina

Veli-Tapani KuokkalaFinland

Magnus LangsethNorway

Jian LuHong Kong, SAR, China

Qingguo MengChina

Wolfgang OstenGermany

Eann PattersonUK

Fabrice PierronUK
Soon-Bok Lee-Korea


Bill Proud—UK

Pramod RastogiSwitzerland

Krishnaswamy Ravi-chandarUSA

Guruswami RavichandranUSA

Victor ShimSingapore

Arun ShuklaUSA

Todd SimmermacherUSA

Clive SiviourUK

Nancy SottsUSA

Chengwei SunChina

Hareesh TippurUSA

Carlos VentuaCanada

Stephen WalleyUK

Fuchi WangChina

Wei-Chung WangTaiwan, China

Xiaoping WuChina

Jilin YuChina

Tongxi YuChina


Macilio AlvesBrazil

Pengwang ChenChina

Terry Y.F. ChenTaiwan, China

Weinong ChenUSA

Xiaowei ChenChina

Laihong DaiChina

Zizheng GongChina

Hong HaoAustralia

Chenguang HuangChina

Qingjie JiaoChina

Jamie KimberleyUSA

Robert J. KlassenCanada

Qingming LiUK

Shukui LiChina

Yulong LiChina

MichaelA. LibermanSweden

Kaixin LiuChina

Yu-Lung LoTaiwan, China
Vikas PrakashUSA
Yoshiharu Morimoto-Japan


Fangyun LuChina

Guoxing LuSingapore

Daniel RittelIsrael

Bo SongUSA

Lu WangChina

Tiejun WangChina

Kaiwen XiaCanada

Huimin XieChina

Jialing YangChina

Lianxiang YangUSA

Yazhen YangChina

Shige ZhanChina

Qingming Zhang China

Han ZhaoFrance

Jianheng ZhaoChina

Longmao ZhaoChina

Fenghua ZhouChina

Gang ZhouChina

Min ZhouUSA







Copyright © 2002-2015. Society for Experimental Mechanics, Inc.   All Rights Reserved.   Web Designer: WebGrow.